Welcome

Welcome to the Friedrich-Ludwig-Jahn-Museum!

 

The museum in the former home of the founder of the German gymnastics movement, the "gymnastics father" Friedrich Ludwig Jahn, is part of the Freyburg Jahn Memorials.

 

After Jahn's death, the German Gymnastics Association (DT) created this historic ensemble, unique in the world, in the heart of the town of Freyburg, where gymnastics and gymnastics history are still at home today.

Attention winter operation!

From Monday, 01 November 2021, the winter opening hours apply. The museum will then be open from Tuesday to Saturday from 10:00 to 17:00. A telephone reservation is not necessary at the moment. In the whole museum area the minimum distance of 2m is to be kept. The house may be entered only with mouth-nose protection (OP mask or FFP2). We reserve the right to implement the 3G regulation in case of increasing incidences. Detailed information can also be found in the "Current information on the Corona pandemic" on this website.

 

Approach

Schloßstraße 11 06632 Freyburg (Unstrut)

Opening hours

April to October:          Tue-Sun 10.00 - 17.00
November to March: Tue-Sat 10.00 - 17.00

Contact

Museum Management & Executive Board

Manuela Dietz

+49 34464 27426

President

Dr. Josef Ulfkotte

image-jahn-turnfest-2@2x

The Jahn memorials are an ensemble consisting of authentic places of residence and activity and buildings that are an expression of the multifaceted Jahn reception.

Apart from the residential house, which Jahn built in 1838-1840 at the foot of the Neuenburg, the memorial gymnasium built in 1894, the hall of honour built in 1903 and the courtyard of honour created in 1936 belong to it.

friedrich-ludwig-jahn-image@2x

Friedrich Ludwig Jahn

Johann Friedrich Ludwig Christoph Jahn, known as Turnvater Jahn (* August 11.1778 on Lanz (Prignitz); † October 151852 on Freyburg (Unstrut)), was a GermanEducator, publicist and politician.

He initiated and established gymnastics under Napoleonic occupation. The ideas of the "German art of gymnastics" realized by him and his comrades-in-arms in the Berlin Hasenheide, can still be found in today's gymnastics business, as well as fundamental terms and designations introduced (created) by Jahn, which have found their way into the scientific gymnastics terminology of today. Thus Jahn has created the bases not only for the gymnastics enterprise, but to a large extent also for the today's sport enterprise. In addition, the form of organization on the Hasenheide, with its central features "voluntariness" and "self-organization" laid the foundation for today's (German) club system.

Since gymnastics was established as military training under Napoleonic occupation, Jahn's historical significance extends beyond the founding of gymnastics. He served as a volunteer recruiter and commander of the 2nd Battalion of the Lützow Free Corps, was a co-founder of the German Confederation and a member of the Paulskirche Parliament. Thus Friedrich Ludwig Jahn established the gymnastics movement not only in general but also as a national movement, i.e. as an explicitly political phenomenon, between the years 1811 and 1815.

Biography

On August 11, 1778 Friedrich Ludwig Jahn was born in Lanz (Priegnitz) as the son of the village pastor. [...]

Exhibition

The permanent exhibition on the ground floor of the residence provides a comprehensive insight into the life and work of the "gymnastics father" Friedrich Ludwig Jahn, [...]

Jahn Society

The Friedrich Ludwig Jahn Society is a non-profit association based in Freyburg an der Unstrut. It dedicates its activities to the goal of researching the life and work of the founder of the gymnastics movement in Germany and his environment, as well as the reception and history of gymnastics associated with him, and to bring these findings to the attention of a broad public. To this end, it operates the Friedrich Ludwig Jahn Museum in Freyburg an der Unstrut and maintains relations with the German Gymnastics Federation (DTB), the regional gymnastics associations, but also with universities, schools, museums and organisations that feel committed to this cause.

jahn-society@2x

img-jahnturnfest-2019@2x
img-jahnturnfest-2019-104@2x
img-museum-indoor@2x

Willkommen

Herzlich Willkommen im Friedrich-Ludwig-Jahn-Museum!

 

Das Museum im ehemaligen Wohnhaus des Begründers der deutschen Turnbewegung,  des „Turnvater“ Friedrich Ludwig Jahn, gehört zu den Freyburger Jahn-Gedenkstätten.

 

Nach dem Tode Jahns schuf die Deutsche Turnerschaft (DT) dieses  weltweit einmalige historische Ensemble im Herzen der Stadt Freyburg, in der das Turnen und die Turngeschichte bis heute zuhause sind.

wieder für geöffnet!

Ab Dienstag, dem 25.05.2021, ist das Wohnhaus wieder für den Besucherverkehr freigegeben. Besucher müssen vorher telefonisch anmelden sowie einen negativen Coronatest oder einen Nachweis über Genesung oder eine vollständige Schutzimpfung vorweisen.  Vorreservierungen  nehmen wir telefonisch unter 034464 -27426 entgegen. Ausführliche Informationen finden Sie auch in den "Aktuellen Hinweisen zur Corona-Pandemie" auf dieser Website.

 

Anfahrt

Schloßstraße 11 06632 Freyburg (Unstrut)

Öffnungszeiten

April bis Oktober:          Di-So 10.00 - 17.00 Uhr
November bis März:      Di-Sa 10.00 - 17.00 Uhr

Kontakt

Museumsleitung & Geschäftsführung

Manuela Dietz

+49 34464 27426

Präsident

Dr. Josef Ulfkotte

image-jahn-turnfest-2@2x

Die Jahn-Gedenkstätten sind ein Ensemble,  bestehend aus authentischen Wohn- und Wirkungsstätten und Gebäuden, die Ausdruck der vielgestaltigen Jahn-Rezeption sind.

Neben dem Wohnhaus, welches Jahn 1838-1840 am Fuß der Neuenburg erbaute, gehören hierzu die 1894 erbaute Erinnerungsturnhalle, die 1903 erbaute Ehrenhalle und der 1936 angelegte Ehrenhof.

friedrich-ludwig-jahn-image@2x

Friedrich Ludwig Jahn

Johann Friedrich Ludwig Christoph Jahn, bekannt als Turnvater Jahn (* 11. August1778 in Lanz (Prignitz); † 15. Oktober1852 in Freyburg (Unstrut)), war ein deutscherPädagoge,  Publizist und Politiker.

Er initiierte und etablierte das Turnen unter napoleonischer Besatzung. Die von ihm und seinen Mitstreitern realisierten Vorstellungen von der „deutschen Turnkunst“ in der Berliner Hasenheide,  sind selbst im heutigen Turnbetrieb noch wiederzufinden, ebenso grundlegende von Jahn eingeführte (erschaffende) Begriffe und Bezeichnungen, die Eingang in die wissenschaftliche Turn-Terminologie der Gegenwart gefunden haben. Damit hat Jahn die Grundlagen nicht nur für den Turnbetrieb, sondern zum großen Teil auch für den heutigen Sportbetrieb geschaffen. Zudem legte die Organisationsform auf der Hasenheide, mit Ihren zentralen Merkmalen „Freiwilligkeit“ und „Selbstorganisation“ den Grundstein für das heutige (deutsche) Vereinswesen.

Da das Turnen als Wehrertüchtigung unter napoleonischer Besatzung etabliert wurde, reicht die historische Bedeutung Jahns über die Begründung des Turnens hinaus. Er fungierte als Freiwilligenwerber und Kommandant des 2. Bataillons des Lützower Freikorps, war Mitbegründer des Deutschen Bundes und Abgeordneter des Paulskirchenparlaments.  So etablierte Friedrich Ludwig Jahn die Turnbewegung nicht nur im Allgemeinen sondern auch als Nationalbewegung, d.h. als explizit politisches Phänomen, zwischen den Jahren 1811 und 1815.

Biographie

Am 11. August 1778 wird Friedrich Ludwig Jahn in Lanz (Priegnitz) als Sohn des Dorfpfarrers geboren. [...]

Ausstellung

Die Dauerausstellung im Erdgeschoss des Wohnhauses vermittelt einen umfassenden Einblick in das Leben und Wirken des „Turnvater“ Friedrich Ludwig Jahn, [...]

Jahn-Gesellschaft

Die Friedrich-Ludwig-Jahn-Gesellschaft ist ein gemeinnütziger Verein mit Sitz in Freyburg an der Unstrut. Sie widmet ihre Tätigkeit dem Ziel, das Leben und Wirken des Gründers der Turnbewegung in Deutschland und seines Umfeldes, sowie die mit ihm verbundene Rezeption und die Geschichte des Turnens zu erforschen und diese Erkenntnisse in das Blickfeld einer breiten Öffentlichkeit zu rücken. Zu diesem Zweck betreibt sie das Friedrich-Ludwig-Jahn-Museum in Freyburg an der Unstrut und unterhält Beziehungen zum Deutschen Turner-Bund (DTB), den Landesturnverbänden, aber auch zu Hochschulen, Schulen, Museen und Organisationen, die sich diesem Anliegen verpflichtet fühlen.

jahn-society@2x

img-jahnturnfest-2019@2x
img-jahnturnfest-2019-104@2x
img-museum-indoor@2x